A day that started out with news I didn't want to hear but ended up being a day where I was able to pay it forward. I went to my cardiologist and we are going to do another echocardiogram and if this one comes back with an ejection fraction of 35% or lower (four months ago it was 20%) I am going to have to have a defibrillator put in and then start the process of a transplant. My doctor told me they like for people to keep their own hearts as long as possible. I said yes so would I but I don't want to wait until I start to see the light! Lol. So I will wait to see what the test shows. I always try to be positive but u am also realistic. Hey I have been blessed to have gone 21 years with this heart condition while a lot have to have transplants within 5-6 years.

After my doctors appointment I stopped by the Dollar store to get a word search. It was pouring rain. Outside the store was an obvious homeless man. As I got close to the entrance he asked me if I could possibly buy him some top ramen or soup. I said sure. I got my books and went to look in the refrigerated section. They had nothing that didn't need heating up. So I bought him some milk, cereal , peanut butter, jelly, bread and cereal bars. I bought him a cloth bag to keep it in. When I gave it to him he was so excited. He was so happy and thankful for the food. He told me it would feed him for days. I had a blanket in my car and gave that to him too because he told me he almost froze last night. He had a shopping cart with his stuff in it and a small bike. One tire was flat. I asked about his tire. He said he tired to fill it with glue but it didn't work. I asked him what size was the tire. He told me. I told him I would go get my husband and we would get him his bike tire tube and put it on for him. I told him it would be awhile because I lived across town. I got in my car a drove off. As soon as I was out of sight I stopped and broke down crying. I just couldn't get the image of how happy he was for getting those few groceries and a blanket. He was about 32. All I could think of was this was someone's son and I wondered where all his family was. No one in this country should be living on the streets or be hungry EVER! When my husband and I went back he said "I didn't think you would really come back"! While my husband changed his bike tire everyone that passed by stared. I wondered if they were staring at us changing the tire for him or staring at him? Either way it's wrong! His name is Ryan. He tells my husband thanks for fixing my tire. I can try to pay you back. My husband says no it's our gift to you. Ryan then says "or if you have someone that's bothering you I can stop it"! My husband said no its ok! Lol then we finished and left. It felt good to help Ryan out. Hey now I can say I kinda sorta might have met a former "problem fixer" if you know what I mean!!! Hey for all I know he could have been a "problem fixer" in his mind...oh sweet Ryan! Lol

Friend me on Facebook:
http://www.facebook.com/christine.thompson

Twitter:
@mywonderMSlife

I hope everyone has a blessed day!
Thanks
Christine




Ekarat
2/19/2013 02:22:27 pm

Very nice

Reply
Pam Larson
2/19/2013 11:54:53 pm

Kudos to you and your husband for helping Ryan. I'll be thinking of you as you await cardio results Christine!!

Reply



Leave a Reply.