Picture
This is a picture of one of my optic nerves.



Have you had your optic nerve checked lately? I have not had an eye exam since I regained my eyesight 7 years ago. I gotta say man dealing with the optometrist is like dealing with a sleazy car salesman! Man what a racket that industry is!! I have coverage for this for a few more days. I thought I better get in there and get a new pair of glasses.

I only want to see one type of glasses. They must have clip on sun glasses. So my husband helps me pick out a cute pair. They have some sort of bling on the side. I couldn't really tell exactly what it was because they dilate my eyes every time. It makes focusing hard. I could tell there was sparkle that all. So after I pick the frame. The lady helping me informs me that the company that makes my frame is in a legal battle with my insurance company. So unfortunately she can not give me the credit of $150.00 off my frame. I will have to submit it myself to them. I ask ok how much are those frames....$299.00! We checked and the only brand of clip on sunglasses they carry are this company. My husband sighs loud! Then it's time to play "how thick do you want your lenses to be"? See I have astigmatisms in both eyes. My glasses are coke bottle bottoms. That is if I don't want to pay for thinner lenses. Of course I do. The thinnest lenses will cost me only another 169.00! Plus the MFG requires that I buy and pay for an anti reflective coating. That's another 69.00! Or option 2 is the 2nd thinnest lens for 69.00 and no anti reflective coating requirement! I took that option! Then she tried to sell me on a scratch resistant coating. Husband sighs heavier snd walks away! Ok I have had my current glasses for 7 years. Didn't get that coating last time and I have no scratches. It's a scam! I believe they come with some sort of protective coating. Then the last ditch effort to up sale me was if I wanted the lenses to have the transition lens. You know the ones that darken when you go out in the sun. That's what the clip on sun glasses are for. So after it was all done it cost me $357.00 dollars!

I better look damn good in those glasses! Oh the doctor recommended to me that since I am getting older it might be time to get bifocals! EXCUSE ME!!! That is for the elderly!!! I am frickin 43!!! I am not sure if he was trying to up sale me or he thought I was older then I am. Either way I am offended!!!

I am sure I could have go to a cheaper doctors office. It's just that he is so thorough job. His exams take like an hour. They do several tests, dilate my eyes and he checks my optic nerve each time. I feel he cares a great deal about the health of his patients eyes.
He is the best doctor I have ever gone to in the 38 years I have been wearing glasses. I get the glasses in about 2 weeks. I feel better that one of those "wait a hour" glasses places. I just feel my eyes are too bad and they may not get it done correctly.

Today we find out if my husband will be able to get unemployment benefits. I pray he former employer isn't going to try and fight his benefits. If they do you will see me on the news with a picket sign saying everything they have done to him. GOD always gives us what we need. I have faith that all will be ok.

Have a wonderful day! Remember to laugh as much as you smile!

Ok I need Twitter followers!!
@mywonderMSlife

Thanks
Christine
Candace Caprara
10/24/2012 10:57:23 pm

I'm praying for your family...

Reply



Leave a Reply.