400,000!!

I have had MS for 7 years now and back then they claimed there were 250,000 people diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis. I find it VERY had to believe that in 7 years only 150,000 thousand people have been newly diagnosed. For goodness sakes there are more than 250,000 people on Facebook that have MS!

Why does it seem like they are trying to down play the number of people effected by Multiple Sclerosis? It doesn't seem like they try to do this with any other disease. If anything they may raise the number to get more funding. So can someone please explain to me why we don't have an accurate number for those of us effected with Multiple Sclerosis? Unless you believe that our disease is slowly stopping? Ya I wish too!


Friend me on Facebook:
http://www.facebook.com/christine.thompson

Twitter:
@mywonderMSlife

I hope everyone has a terrific Thursday!
Thanks
Christine
miranda
2/8/2013 05:32:17 am

it is to keep "orphan drug status" so pharma ceutical companies get extra long patent protection.

Orphan drugs are rare diseases that don't make drug companies a lot of $$cause there's so few people. Keeping MS diagnosed as an "orphan drug" even if it's not means they get special tax breaks and incentives to make drugs for us. Nice to know when the MS drugs earn 15 billion a year.... But I agree there's are tons of people with MS. Montel did a gallup poll and they estimated that contrary ot the official position of 400,000 (the orphan limit) theres about 1.2 million in the US alone.
Don't expect the multiple sclerosis society to admit it though--they totally want what's good for pharma as their board of directors are all MS neuros that get paid by pharma

Reply
Dr.Munir Hussain Sheikh
5/2/2013 12:50:17 pm

My facebook id is also [email protected] I am also working on MS from last 3 years and i got excellent results from all over the world,thanks God.Let me know how could i do treat millions of MS patients whom suffering their lives very badly.Take my services for the sake of humanity.

Reply
6/6/2022 12:37:16 am

Great read thaank you

Reply



Leave a Reply.