Today is my 8th year Anniversay so I want to talk about love. I am mature enough now to realize I made plenty of stupid mistakes in what I thought was love. I was like everyone just wanting someone to live me for me. I went about it they wrong way. Before Match.com and Eharmony in the 90's it was personal ads in newspapers. I found myself to be popular but for the wrong reasons. They were not interested in me at all. They just wanted someone to "sleep" with them. Then the popularity of dating websites hit. I tried that too but sadly I encountered men who were themselves no "ken dolls" but wanted only a "Barbie" type of woman. I could use a lot of words to discribe myself but "Barbie" is no where on the list! Lol
In 1998 I was introduced through a friend Bobby. He was kind and caring at least that was what I thought. We married but I was not happy. After just 2 years I finally woke up and filed for divorce. March 15, 2000 was the first day of freedom and a new me. For the first time in my life I realized I was worthy of true love. I would no longer allow myself to settle for anything less. I desided that I would rather be alone then be walked on and disrespected.
I already had been diagnosed with cardiomyopathy, my heart condition. I had been in congestive heart failure twice. I realized life can be short and I wanted to be loved, truely loved and I wouldn't settle for anything less.
In 2004 a co-worker introduced me to her ex-brother in law Doug. I met him on Febuary 1, 2004 at a super bowl party. I had decided I was not going to get excited about meeting him. In the past before I went on a date I would have these feeble thoughts of "this guy will be the one", "this time he will call me". I know you all know what I am talking about! If your laughing at this it's because you've been there and done that!
I didn't know but that day was the day I found my best friend and soul mate. Doug is the only man I have truely been loved by and in love with. I didn't settle this time and it makes life so much better.
We were married for about a year when I was diagnosed with MS. Having my heart condition I had first knowledge of people and a husband leaving when I got sick. I could not help but to be afraid my husband would leave me because I had MS now too. I soon realized that was a thought that never entered into his mind. That is the difference between a man loving a woman and a 30 year old child saying he loves you.
The reason I am telling you this story is because many of us that have MS or any other disease are afraid we will be left, have been left or think we are sick so no one would love us. This is not true!!! Weather we are sick or not we have to believe that we are worthy of love and demand respect. We can not settle for anything less! Our journeys through life may be bumpy at times but we have to learn to stay strong and ride it out. Respect yourself if you ever want others to respect you. Never give up on finding your soul mate. It took 36 years for us to find each other. Sick, crippled, blind it doesn't matter we ride the bumps in life together and forever! I hope everyone out there has this kind of true love or you find it. Just remember to never settle for less then you really want. Life is too short to live with regrets.
Have a wonderful day and remember to laugh!

P.S I need to revise my list of true friends. I mistakenly left out my dear friend of over 25 year Candace. Its only because she lived in Florida and we don't see each other very often. She is a true friend one I adore and love and she knows it. I love you!



Leave a Reply.