Did you get your flu shot yet? I had planned to get it yesterday but I woke up with a scratchy throat and chest congestion. I know from past experience that you should never get a flu shot if you have a tiny cold. The year I got a flu shot with a slight cold I got so sick I was almost hospitalized.

It was back in 1993. I got my flu shot then a few days later my son and I got on a Greyhound bus from California to Florida. 3 1/2 days on a bus with my son who was 2 at the time. I know what your thinking....yes I must have been out of my mind! I remember my father telling me that I shouldn't travel that way. He said people look dirty and shady! I was going to Florida to visit my good friend Candace. It was cheap. It cost me only $140.00 round trip. I didn't have to pay for a seat for my son. He could sit in any empty seat or on my lap. I learned in the first 6 hours that it was a mistake. Traveling over the Grapevine in California the bus turns off the air condition ER to prevent over heating. Ok their are no windows! The bus was packed my son was asleep in my arms. It was so hot and sticky I thought I would die! My make was all sweated off!

Ok let me just say I never used the port-a-potty in the bus. Apparently others have I problem going #2 and stinking up the bus. It seemed the further back in the bus people's at the stranger they were. I stayed right up front behind the driver. I spilled a drink on my clothes too. I looked tore up from the floor up! I was exactly the kind or dirty person my father talked about! Lol

I got to Florida and big surprise they list my luggage! I had not showered in over 3 days and I was sick. My grandmother who I was going to stay with had o clothes for me to wear. She was a tiny skinny lady. It was a day before I got my luggage. My flu got so bad I had to come home early. I was not looking forward to traveling 3 1/2 days home and deathly sick. I remember this scary looking man wearing a long black leather coat got on the bus. It wasn't cold enough for that coat. I remember thinking I thought he had a shot gun inside his coat. Of course he ended up sitting right behind me. I was coughing up a storm. Every time I coughed he made a noise of disapproval. I was scared thinking he was going to kill me if I didn't stop coughing. It was a long ride before he got off the bus. I was so relieved! Do you realize that stress like that makes you cough more!

We made it home and I obviously lived! It was about 17 years before I would get another flu shot. I now get them yearly but I request a preservative free flu shot. I hope I will lose this scratchy throat and coughing before my private insurance ends on November 1st. Medicare here I come! Oh yeah!

I hope everyone had a great weekend. I hope you all remembered to laugh!

Friend me on Facebook at:
http://www.facebook.com/christine.thompson

I need more Twitter followers so I don't feel like a looser!!! Lol
@mywonderMSlife

Thanks
Christine



Leave a Reply.