Continuation of my hospital saga!!
Ok I left off after my nurse had put my IV in. It must have been around 7 pm. A respirator therapist came in. She hooked me up for an hour treatment. She asked me if I had COPD. I said no and why was I getting a breathing treatment I was here for heart failure? I am not sure if I ever got an answer. I have never seen such a larger container for breathing treatment medicines. She dumped four or five medicines. It was quite a cocktail. The mask went over my nose which already had oxygen tubes already in it. She put it on me then she too disappeared. Maybe there was something in the water !! Lol

After about 15 minutes of the treatment I had to go to the bathroom. I had to pee again! No nurse was around so my husband unhooked me from everything. When he took off the breathing mask he spilled it down my back. I was glad because it was giving me serious heart burn. My husband helped me to the bathroom and hooked me back to all my equipment. We waited and waited. Then we waited some more. My husband finally went home to supervise our teenagers at 11:00 pm. He only left because my nurse said I would be going up to my room any time.

Of course I had to go pee again! My nurse was no where around to unhook me from all my machines. I unhooked myself. I was already sitting at the end of my gurney because I couldn't lay on that so-called mattress any longer. So I stand up and go to take a step. My body leg went forward and my foot twisted and like a huge big fat sack of potatoes I went crashing to the floor. I slammed onto that tile floor like a bullet hitting a target and I made a very loud thud noise! I would have loved to have seen my facial expression in slow motion on a camera! I bet it was priceless! I am sure you can imagine just how painful and embarrassing this was. A doctor in the next exam curtain open up the curtain and said "don't get up" "wait for help" but didn't offer to help. My respiratory therapist reappeared and some guy helped me up. I guess it was a good thing I was wearing those damn "non-slip socks they made me wear! It appears my blood pressure had become extremely low. I don't know the exact number I just know the bottom number was 31! If my frickin nurse had been around instead of gosh knows where he was I wouldn't have gotten hurt. My ankle immediately started swelling. My nurse brought me a walker and put a bracelet on me that said "fall risk"! Now I was labeled!

They came and did an X-ray of my foot. It was now about 1:30 am. My nurse told me they had a room for me. I asked if its was a room by myself. He said no. I asked him if he could ask if since I fell because this hospital is understaffed and overworking the staff and I fell as a result of that. I told my nurse I wasn't upset at him at all but could he ask. He went to ask. About 10 minutes later he came back and suddenly had a shitty attitude. He walked around the corner and was mumbling "I should be grateful to get any room"! I didn't say anything to him. About 10 minutes later .....ok are you sitting down...... Two men in suits and a security guard came to talk to me! I was takin aback! I couldn't understand why these men were here to talk to me. One of men in the suits says "I understand you want your own room". " I said yes I have been here for 12 hours, I have fallen down because your understaffed and are over working the staff you have plus I snore like a bear and It wouldn't be fair to anyone else". Then that EMT (she was the one who was talking smack about the Hispanic mother and child) stuck her head in my curtain to tell me to be quite because their was a child their. I said. "So.....remember you told all of us she didn't speak any English"!!!! She just shut the curtain!

I was so mad that they had brought these men in suits and a security guard! I said get this IV out of my arm I am going home! I had had all I could take from this hospital! I signed out AMA! I will NEVER EVER go back to that hospital again! Remember I was there for 12 hours simply to get admitted! I will wait and call an ambulance and the nearest hospital is about 3 minutes away and it's not that crappy hospital!

Friend me on Facebook:
http://www.facebook.com/christine.thompson

Twitter:
@mywonderMSlife

I hope you have a wonderful Saturday!
Thanks
Christine
Debbie King
2/1/2013 10:11:25 pm

I am so sorry that you had to through that. That hospital needs to be reported. Know should be treated like you were. I was treated like that one time. But never since. Any time I go to the hospital now, I always get a pravite room. And that is on my records and from my Doctor. So talk to your Doctor and see he can do something to help you. Good luck and my thoughts and prayers will be with you. I know it is no fun to fall. In 2011, I fell 32 times between March and October. Was black and blue all over. Was in Rehab three different times. Rehab didn't help either. There is very little that can be done when you get to that point. It is up to you then. Am I going to give up and be in a wheelchair the rest of my life or am I going to keep moving? So I choose to keep moving. I hate MS, but I am not going to let it get me down. You take care my friend and as I said, you will be in my thoughts and prayers.

Reply



Leave a Reply.