MRI

2/5/2013

0 Comments

 
MRI
I had an MRI yesterday. I had previously scheduled for an open MRI. I am claustrophobic. I was sick and coughing. The tech came out and asked if I thought I would be able to not cough for 15 minutes at a time for the test. I laughed and said I was sucking on a cough drop right now. So NO! She said had I had an open MRI before. I sad no just the normal ones. She said ok we need to reschedule because your sick plus if you have have a closed MRI before you should continue to have them for consistency. She said they could sedate me.

So I show up for my MRI and for some reason my husband had to check me in because I was going to be sedated. They gave me Valium. I had to wait 30 minutes. Then it was my time. My tech helps me walk in as I am a little wobbler then normal. So I lay down on the table. It seemed smaller to me then the last time I had one. So I laid down. Thank heavens I didn't pass gas! As soon as I lay down I immediately close my eyes. I know that face mask that locks my head in place is on its way. That thing scares me. To me this mask is like the mask from "Silence of the Lambs" you know the leathery one with those metal things covering this mouth. That freaks me out! My tech locked on my face mask. So now I am locked and loaded and ready to go! Trapped stuck and unable to move. So it starts....I start sliding into the "medal coffin". My arm are semi crossed on my stomach. I don't have to guess when I am fully inside the "medal coffin" because it was quite clear when my arms and belly scrap the roof of the MRI machine! I couldn't look around because I am afraid to open my eyes but I am positive I am taking up every inch of this tube! I know now how a can of biscuits feel...if they had feelings! I though if I farted right then I would pop out like a biscuit from a freshly popped can! A few times the sounds from the MRI would stop. To me it seemed rather lengthy but I am sure it was just a few minutes. I would start to freak a little so I would call out....hello...anyone there?? No answer!!! I would say it again...no response. Then the sounds start up again. I think there is a camera in the MRI machine that the tech's watch. I can just see them watching them laughing at me. Telling another co-worker....."oh wait watch this"....then they stop the machine and then I say "hello...anyone there"!! And they laugh!!! LOL I can laugh because honestly this would have been something I would have done myself if I had worked in this field! Come on you know you would have too!! Lol. To imagine all the funny faces we all must make in the MRI machine with that face mask on! Man I bet some are priceless! Damn that HIPPA law other wise you know we would see some of us one funny home videos!

Friend me on Facebook:
http://www.facebook.com/christine.thompson

Twitter:
@mywonderMSlife

I hope you all have a great Wednesday!
Thanks
Christine



Leave a Reply.