Medicare!! Questions....questions and more questions!!! It is open enrollment time. I received a thick booklet type thing in the mail. I am fairly intelligent but reading this really confused me. I found inside my book a toll free number to get help. It's on the back cover. HICAP which stands for Health Insurance Counseling & Advocacy Program. This is a free service.

I had my appointment today. They tell you to bring a list of your prescriptions. She goes over all the plans available in your area. They have simple spreadsheets to follow. It breaks down everything from plan cost, hospital stay costs to co-pays for your Dr. and prescriptions. They will put all your current medications into their computer. Then their system tells you which plan will benefit you the most. They tell you which of your prescriptions will be covered. Thy even tell you what month you will go into your donut hole.

It took about an hour but I was very pleased with the services. It really made this choice so easy. It was a little scary to me before. I thought I was going to get crappy coverage and end up paying a lot for it. In the end I do not pay anything extra for my plan. Other then the standard $99.90 to Medicare. All my prescriptions are either free or $5.00 except for two that were not covered by any company. One I knew would not be covered was my Copaxone. The second one surprised me. They do not cover my potassium pills. I have to take these with my water pills I take for my heart. Shockingly they cost $46.00 for a 30 day supply. It's a potassium pill for heaven sake!

I thought all of you should look at the booklet Medicare mailed you. Call the
number on the back for your area. You will be surprised how helpful this free service is. Plus you may find another plan will work better for you and save you money too! I thought it was GREAT!!! I highly recommend you all do this free helpful program.

I hope this information is helpful. Thank you for reading my blog. It means a lot to me. I hope everyone has a blessed day.

Thanks
Christine

Facebook:
http://www.facebook.com/christine.thompson

Twitter:
��MywonderMSlife



Leave a Reply.