Self catheterization....how will I be able to do this? This is a huge fear of mine. I have a fat stomach! Just how am I going to be able to maneuver around my fat stomach with my T-Rex arms? Seriously that is a small hole to try and get a a tiny tube into it! There is no way in the world I will ever be able to do this myself. I can see how it is easier for a man with a big belly then for a woman with a big belly. Since that is a medically necessary function...being able to urinate. I wonder if Medicare will give me a tummy tuck and liposuction? If a woman doesn't have a flat stomach just how are you able to self catheterize?

You may laugh but I asked my urologist if they put a shunt type device in for a woman. I thought they had something like that. I was wrong! I just thought then a woman would just have to feel for the hole in this shunt and insert the catheter into that. It makes sense to me but I guess they do not make anything like this. So that means my big ass will never be able to self catheterize!

So when my bladder gets worse I guess my choice will be either a urine bag attached to me or my husband will have to catheterize me a couple times a day! Oh joyful!! Both choices are crappy. Since our bladders a weak I wonder if we could get a bladder transplant? How great that would be for all of us! Our immune systems would eventually mess that bladder up too. It would be great to have a controllable bladder for awhile! I wonder if they can transplant a bladder? I am gonna look into that! Yes!!! I looked on google and there is information on bladder transplants! They have even grown new bladders for people from a piece of their own bladder. That would mean no chance of rejection! I am going to have to look deeper into this!!

Update on Jordan. He has been home for a few days. I talked on the phone with him today. He is doing better. I told him if he ever wanted or needed to talk I was hear for him. I told him I didn't care what time it was either. I encouraged him to be honest with his bother about what his sister-in-law has been doing and saying to him. I told him he should be honest and tell his brother how he feels unwanted in his home. He is still on crutches. Hopefully he will be healed from his surgery soon. I want to help him find a job. That's not easy in my town as we have 18.99% unemployment! At least that's what was reported 6 months ago. It may be higher or lower. I just want to help him feel lived and to have a positive person in his life.

I hope everyone has a fantastic week. Thank you again for reading my blog!
Thanks
Christine

Facebook:
http://www.facebook.com/christine.thompson

Twitter:
@MywonderMSlife
3/13/2013 03:07:37 pm

I know you wrote this a while back, but a couple weeks ago I read about a mirror that's designed just for self-catching. It's sort of weird looking. It's a mirror with two curved plastic parts attached to the sides that allow you to hold the mirror between your legs, and the mirror points up so you can see what you're doing.

I can't remember what they're called, but I'm sure googling "self catheterizing mirror" or something like that should do it. They're a little pricey, like $80 or something, but it might be worth it.

Hope this helps, good luck in the future :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.